Author Topic: 2 major issues since switching to 2018.1  (Read 1463 times)

Hi
I have been using substance for a couple of years now  and had no issues like the ones happening now in 2018.1
The character scene I am working on is big, it's 9 Udims (to be combined later, due to cage problems it was easier to break out the Udims) and very heavy on materials, most are set to 2k.

Issue 1

Random crashes
When ever I try to paint with a brush after about 3 seconds of a continuous stroke it just crashes, this happens every time.

I have upped my Vram to 18GB and also tried multiple Nvidia drivers for my Titan Black GPU.

Issue 2
Was my stupid fault....

i have also reinstalled SP as well
Attached are the log and dxdiag as well as screenshots of the problem.
I can share the project .spp, but only to Allegorithmic and it would have to be privately as it is a professional project and it's 5.7GB

Thanks
Last Edit: April 01, 2018, 06:51:44 am

Ok, I am a little embarrassed but figured if it saves someone else the trouble I will tell you what it was.
My HDD had only 2GB left on it (I thought  it was enough) and as soon as I cleared some more room it was fixed, obviously Substance Painter needs a fair bit of space to cache strokes when painting.
If I am wrong please tell me but making more room on HDD fixed it.

I guess a good ENHACEMENT REQUEST would be for Painter to handle that situation for gracefully.
An simple "Out of disk space" message would be nice.
Hobbyist
----------
Common "Help" suggestions:
- LOG FILE tips - https://forum.allegorithmic.com/index.php/topic,22451.0.html
- LICENSING issues https://www.allegorithmic.com/contact
- ATTACH files and pictures to posts: https://forum.allegorithmic.com/index.php/topic,23670.0.html