Author Topic: General Painter workflow questions  (Read 5748 times)

I'm very new to substance, but I think it's going to play a huge role in my workflow. That being said:

1. Is there anyway for me to add baked textures to new layers in painter?
2. In the fill mode, is there any way for me to expand / contract my selections, or select edge rings / loops?
3. Once I have a new layer with a painted selection, how do I mask that, so I only paint within the masked section?
4. Is there a recommended scale to work with? We tend to work with meters, but I have to crank up all my brushes.
4. Maybe I could make one myself, but I'd love an environment similar to the one in the beta video - just a nice dark gradient or something.
5. Will painter be flexible enough to work as a standalone painting app, without a heavy reliance on pre-existing substances?

It looks SUPER promising, but my head is spinning with a few questions right now :)

I'm not going to be able to answer everything, but I thought I'd answer where I can so you have some immediate feedback:

I'm very new to substance, but I think it's going to play a huge role in my workflow. That being said:

1. Is there anyway for me to add baked textures to new layers in painter?

---I've not found a way - yet.

2. In the fill mode, is there any way for me to expand / contract my selections, or select edge rings / loops?

---Nope

3. Once I have a new layer with a painted selection, how do I mask that, so I only paint within the masked section?

---Have you tried Quick Mask, shortcut is "T"?

4. Is there a recommended scale to work with? We tend to work with meters, but I have to crank up all my brushes.

You are painting on a 1024 (default) or a 2048 pixel bitmap across the UV's as you unwrapped them. Scale is what you determine in your UV's.

4. Maybe I could make one myself, but I'd love an environment similar to the one in the beta video - just a nice dark gradient or something.