Author Topic: How can I turn a baked normal into a substance?  (Read 974 times)

Hello guys. I'm a newbie trying to establish my workflow and I would like to use Blender for modeling, Substance for texturing and then import everything into Unity. I'm trying to build a simple road network and I already know a little of those 3 tools, but I need a little help about how to turn a normal map into a complete substance. What I want to do is model the low poly geometry in Blender, then build a high poly version of the low poly with the subsurface modifier, bake the normal map and import that into Substance Designer. I already watched a video giving me a little bit of info, but the video was deleted and I've searched for hours and found nothing similar so I came here o ask.

I remember a little bit about the video and I know that I need to turn the normal map into a curvature map because that's what I plan to use to build what will be the concrete slabs that will conform my sidewalk. The thing is that I have no idea about how to do that and I need a little help with that. If somebody knows a better alternative I would like to hear it as well. Thanks in advance for any help.

Hey, if you want to use your normal into a substance, you can either drag'n'drop into your graph (to link or import it), or create a color input node, that will allow later on to plug whatever normal to your substance (recommended).

Then the substance will depend of what you want to achieve: could give some hint ? (screenshot ref, you normal map? etc...)