Author Topic: Noob Question for importing shared stuff (e.g. smart material)  (Read 31618 times)

Hi,
I'm an absolute beginner at Substance Painter (and just a hobbyist).

I made a little something in C4D and i would like to apply a smart material on it.
f.ex. the T800_Metal.spsm .

I downloaded the file from the Substance Share page and put it in the Shelf.

BUT:
It doesnt show in the Shelf when I open Painter ???

Since i have a small SSD as my C-drive, the programs are all installed on a separate drive. Dunno if that has something to do with it?
So typically, the exe program is here: K:\Program Files\Allegorithmic\Substance Painter
and the smart materials are situated here: K:\Program Files\Allegorithmic\Substance Painter\resources\shelf\allegorithmic\smart-materials

Plz Help Me find a solution !!
THX.

Hi,

You just need to drag & drop the smart material in the shelf, in the smart materials part, that's all :)

If you want to have it available in all projects, you need to put in the shelf which you defined in your Preferences. By Default it's in My Documents.

Cheers,
Nicolas
Director of Product Management & COO

Hm that does not work for me .. I have installed the latest Substance Designer and Painter, and I can't seem to do anything with these downloaded .spsm files. I can not drag and drop them to the smart material shelf in Substance Painter .. the mousepointer stays in the "forbidden" icon. Also, I wonder what I can do with them in Substance Designer? I'd like to have a look at them on how they are made.

Hey sentalize,

you can't use Smart Materials in Substance Designer, these are Substance Painter only files.

Best regards
Environment Artist - Twitter

Thanks Fabian. Is this on purpose or just a lacking feature? I'd have liked to see how materials are built in Substance Designer. And I stillc an't drag and drop them in Substance Painter :P

Hey sentalize,