Author Topic: Any way to get luminance variation in a bitmap?  (Read 19523 times)

Is there any method for adding luminance to a black and white bitmap? For example, I have made a solid black and white image (not like a height map with gray values but more like a mask) that I am basing much of my substance on. What I'd like to be able to do is to add the luminance variation that nodes like Tile Generator are able to do, except using my custom mask. Basically take the white values and give them variety.

I hope that makes sense. :) Thanks for any help that's offered!

Hey Deimos,

the first method that comes to my mind would be to try that out with the pixel processor.
But there is no 'easy' node or something to use.

Best regards
Environment Artist - Twitter

Thanks for the reply Fabian. I'm new to SD and even more new to the pixel processor so hopefully someone can shed some light on how I can get started with what I need. :)

You want a solid value for each enclosed area right? I wanted to do this too but couldn't come up with a way to select each 'island'...

Yes, that is correct Eggz. The best example I can think of is if I wanted to make a stained glass window but instead of using the tile generator I wanted to supply my own mask and have SD "read" that each white area is different. This way I could apply either gradients or solid colors to each pane of glass.

Another example would be if I wanted to make a brick generator that I could always feed a black and white mask into so that I could get some really crazy shapes easily. Having something like what I've asked for in this thread would allow me to give each brick different depths, colors, or slopes because SD would now recognize them as individual shapes.

Hey,
maybe I misunderstand what you want to do, but is it like the image below ? :