Author Topic: Very new to Substance painter. Question about using substance.  (Read 3782 times)

As stated in my topic subject, I'm very new to this program. Lets say i finished modeling and now i want to begin texturing in substance painter. So i import to Substance painter.. i start painting/texturing my model. I'm finished. Where do i go from here? How do i import what i created in substance painter into maya to display what i made?

Sorry for the noob question. I cant find this information anywhere..

Also, would you recommend using this for walls and buildings? would you still texture in photoshop, then import into substance painter to create metals and scratches and such?

Thank you in advance. I've been looking for this info.
P.s. i am fairly new with modeling (a year and a half using it)

Hey psycho_strider,

Substance Painter exports bitmaps sou you'll end up with standard textures. These textures are PBR Textures so you need a renderer capable of displaying PBR maps.
Maya 2016 just came out with PBR support so you can just import your freshly made textures from Substance Painter right into the Stringray PBR Shader of Maya 2016 (LT).

I find it a lot faster and easier not to use Photoshop. You need to try a few things out and play around a bit, of course, but when you figured out how to do it fast and efficient, it's a smooth and nice workflow.

Best Regards
Environment Artist - Twitter

Hi Fabian F.,

Thank you for the informative reply. I'm downloading maya 2016 student edition as we speak. Do you know of any tutorials that show how to import the substance into maya 2016? I cant quite figure out keywords that will show me what i'm looking for. Does maya open spp. files? Maybe i need to learn about using PBR textures first. I'm not sure exactly where to start.

Hey psycho_strider,

Substance Painter exports bitmaps sou you'll end up with standard textures. These textures are PBR Textures so you need a renderer capable of displaying PBR maps.