Author Topic: Visible UV-seam in SP from Modo-bake  (Read 4186 times)

Greetings,

First of all, I am still a rookie when it comes to creating UVs and baking. Now, I created an UV-map for a low-poly object and baked the normal information from the high-poly. I used Modo 801 for baking, which worked fine, but when I import the mesh into SP and apply the normal map I get some REALLY visible seams (see the picture). There are no visible seams in the Modo viewport with 'Advanced OpenGL' as the render mode. I was wondering if anyone might have some thoughts on my issue?

Many thanks in advance, anything on the problem is much appreciated. :)

without seeing both your high and low poly mesh its a little hard to see whats going on, however here are sosme things to keep in mind.
1. are you generating opengl normal maps or directx.  And make sure you set the way painter handles normal maps correctly when you load you mesh.  You can also change this setting after the fact by going to Edit/Project Configuration.
2. where ever you have a hard edge on your low mesh, you need to break the UV apart or the normals wont bake properly.

Here is a site I point people to to help understand baking.
http://docs.cryengine.com/display/SDKDOC2/Common+XNormal+Baking+Errors+and+How+to+Solve+Them
this talks about baking in xnormal, but the same rules apply.

Hope this helps

without seeing both your high and low poly mesh its a little hard to see whats going on, however here are sosme things to keep in mind.
1. are you generating opengl normal maps or directx.  And make sure you set the way painter handles normal maps correctly when you load you mesh.  You can also change this setting after the fact by going to Edit/Project Configuration.
2. where ever you have a hard edge on your low mesh, you need to break the UV apart or the normals wont bake properly.

Here is a site I point people to to help understand baking.