Author Topic: White screen/crash despite Troubleshooting  (Read 883 times)

I'm a hobbyist and infrequent user. I decided to revisit the 2018 Lantern tutorials by Wes on YouTube to brush up. 

After the first couple crashes, I loaded the mesh in Maya LT 2020 to check if it was a system problem. That took a couple of seconds to load so I knew it wasn't my computer.

I attempted the following fixes, all to no avail:

- fixed registry editor to include both Tdr keys (set to 120 sec to be sure) -- the log mentions TdrLevel: None, but I can't find this in the documentation; if there's a correct value to add, please tell me.
- changed the Virtual Memory paging file size to 24GB
- Turned off Norton 360

After each change I checked the Log file to see if I could find anything. The common Warnings in all of them related to Iray, starting with "MDL search dir path not found" in multiple directories then more Warnings about "Alg::connectSlotsByName: No matching signal for applicationStarted()" and more of the same.

The mesh did load a couple of times but then Painter spontaneously shut down before I could do anything.

I'm willing to delete the 7.1.0 and download the 2018.1.0 in the tutorials if that's the easiest fix, but it would be nice to be able to use the current version. Please let me know how to proceed, thanks.

Update:

I used Revo Uninstaller Pro in Advanced Mode to remove the 7.1.0 in case there were any stray files or registry fragments causing the problem. I then reinstalled the 7.1.0 with the same result and the same log file.

After removing it, I then installed the 2018.1.0 from a previously purchased license key.

The project loads fine and Painter is stable with no issues so far.

Oddly enough, the current log file shows similar Warnings as the one from 7.1.0
I'm including it should you wish to compare and isolate the source of the problem.

The white screen freeze at startup is an issue we haven't been able to reproduce so far on our side.