Author Topic: Multi Centered Arch Generator (for facades, gates, windows and buildings)  (Read 1069 times)

The node is available on my Artstation page here https://www.artstation.com/marketplace/p/KMlg/substance-designer-arch-generator.
Hi all
This is my first time posting on the "Showcase" part of the forum as I am usually the one pestering people with questions  ;D and I am not by any means a master of the software. I do concept art so I generally use the substances from substance source.
I am also not sure what is the best way to showcase a substance file here on the forum so I am all ears on this issue.
Nevertheless during the lockdown I had some spare time to play with substance designer.
Specifically I kept hearing that the pixel processor is a really powerful node and I wondered what I could do with it and how much could I push it. 
I really love those substances that reproduce building facades. I have seen some amazing work.
One thing I noticed though is that there is not really any easy way to create the main types of arches https://happho.com/beautiful-entrance-arches-house/(excluding the 1 centered circular arch), especially when you have to show the voussoirs, or you want a texture (like a wood pattern) to follow its shape.
Therefore I decided to brush my high school trigonometry and give a read to a great book called "Practical geometry for builders and architects".

Math is FUN! :D
The result of this exploration of the pixel processor was my "Arch Generator" node.
This is a node that can generate all the main types and sub-types of arches and that can map an image input along their length and width. It was a fascinating challenge to tackle and the result, while not 100% perfect, still does what is supposed to do in most of the cases.