Author Topic: [SOLVED] Substance Designer - Graph thumbnails not rendering  (Read 206 times)

Today I bought the latest version of Substance Designer because of this bug occuring in Substance Designer 4. I'm still learning the program and haven't had any issues in the first 2 hours of navigating the program and testing things out.
After a while of trying out some things, nodes stopped rendering thumbnails. The issue is fixed by saving, closing the application and loading up the project again. Although if any change is made, it cascades all the way down the tree. All thumbnails become red. Obviously this makes working on creating anything extremely hard.

Here's what I mean:

The top tile generator is identical to the lower one except that I changed a minor value. This happens with any value I'm changing. If I were to change something about the polygon, it would affect everything down to the Invert Grayscale node.

I've tried everything suggested in this thread:
https://forum.substance3d.com/index.php?topic=14243.0
Which is: deleting the registry entry (Which I have saved), deleting the databases and restarting my PC

And here:
https://forum.substance3d.com/index.php?topic=7519.0
Where the suggestion was made to click on the wrench and press clean up. Which only deleted all the nodes. Once I undid that action, all of the nodes were red, effectively doing the opposite of what I want.

I've also turned off my antivirus software before marking it as trustworthy. (Kaspersky Total Security)

Since I've been encountering the issue on both versions of Substance Designer, I'm suspecting that it must be some incompatibility issue with my PC? I can provide a DXDiag report.

While writing this I did however find a dirty workaround that fixes the issue for seemingly one branch of the node tree. Right clicking the node and activating the "View Output In 2D View".

Thank you very much for your help. I'm really at a loss here and would love to continue as soon as possible.