Author Topic: Exporting out of substance painter back into maya  (Read 28504 times)

Hey everyone.
So just to get this out the way, Using maya 2017 (Arnold for rendering) and substance painter 2.3.1

So as in the title I want to now bring the amazingly textured object back into maya for rendering. So im a bit new to texturing so honestly, I have no idea how to do this really. any help?

What i did was export textures, left all the settings the same then went into maya and applied a Blinn to the object then where it lets you select the colour for the Blinn in the attribute editor I clicked to import a file and used the base colour file. Now this looked rubbish in maya. Im guessing im not doing something?

Please help, Spent hours making this model and i really want to get a great texture for it!

Thanks

Hi ed3d,

Here are some help.
You can export your textures from Painter with the Arnold preset. It is working.
This is the original doc: https://support.allegorithmic.com/documentation/display/SPDOC/Arnold+for+Maya
It is correct about which texture goes where.

Here are the thing you need to know for perfect result in Maya 2017 with Arnold:

Settings: Arnold in Maya 2017 understands Maya's Color Management system.
You don't need those gamma nodes anymore. Just make sure the Color Management system is on.

Textures: Import your textures.
You have to set the Color Space settings correctly in them.
sRGB: Diffuse, Specular
RAW: Roughness, f0, Normal map, Height map

You need to turn on the Alpha is Luminance feature in the following textures:
Roughness, f0, Height map (in the normal map textures it turns on automatically). Do not forget this!

One more thing. If you created a shiny surface you need something to reflect on it.
In Viewport 2.0 you can't see reflections, so a shiny reflective metal surface looks almost black (because the diffuse texture).

Cheers, D
I'm an Environment Artist and R&D Generalist at Digic Pictures

Hey