Author Topic: [SOLVED] 2D view is stuck on computing and thumbnails disappear  (Read 172 times)

Hello!
I am quite new to Substance Designer and I am struggling to continue learning because every graph I create has the same problem.
Shortly after I start working some of the thumbnails in the graph view disappear and 2D view gets stuck on computing. Library loses all the thumbnails too and rebuilding them does no change. I am still able to make changes in the parameters section and 3D view updates normally. If I try closing the program while it is stuck on computing it leaves the process running in the background. After opening it again I am able to work for a few minutes before everything repeats.
I tried waiting for an hour for the program to compute with no success. I have updated my drivers and reinstalled Substance Designer but the problem persists.
I am attaching the graph I am currently experiencing issues with if that helps. I am working with 2019.3.3 version
Last Edit: April 08, 2020, 05:48:58 pm

Hello Lina,

Thank you for reporting this issue. We appreciate your patience!

First, let us reset some settings and databases in order to try to reproduce the issue from a blank slate.
Please take the following steps on Windows:
  • Close Substance Designer;
  • Press the Windows + R keys;
  • Type regedit and press 'Enter';
  • Select Yes on the system prompt that appears to open the Windows Registry Editor;
  • In the address bar at the top of the window, paste the following address:
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Allegorithmic\Substance Designer
  • In the left panel folder hierarchy, select the Substance Designer folder and delete it;
  • Find the following folder and either rename, move or delete it:
C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Allegorithmic\Substance Designer
  • Open Substance Designer
  • Open your SBS project file
Does the software behave as expected, and in particular the 2D View and Library thumbnails?