Author Topic: Importing OBJ witj a .mtl does not work in Substance Painter  (Read 212 times)

Hi,
I have an obj file and a corresponding .mtl file. When I import the obj file, The model is loaded fully white. If i do the same thing in Adobe Dimension, it works but not in substance Painter(ver 2019.13.3).
Pls let me know If I am doing something wrong.

When I import the obj file, The model is loaded fully white.

So? What do you expect to happen instead?

Pls let me know If I am doing something wrong.

I can't tell you what or if you are doing something wrong, as there is no indication in your posting about what you are actually doing. Do we need to guess? Seriously...

Shot in the dark: If you expect Painter to load material properties like colors from an OBJ file, it doesn't do it. Material assignments are merely used to create TextureSets or bake ID maps.
Last Edit: February 23, 2020, 02:17:04 pm

Dear Volker,
Pls don't be crass. I am a newbie so please don't scare me off. I am, however thankful to your response.

Maybe I should have asked differently..

When I load a GLTF file, Substance Painter shows me the 3d Model with all textures painted in. Please see the attached screen shot. This is the snapshot of the screen as soon as the gltf is imported.
So Hopefully this answer your first question to me.

When I do the same for an obj(which has an mtl), The painter loads the bare 3d model. Why is the behavior different in comparison to when a gltf file is loaded? Guess this answer your second question to me. What do I expect to happen? I expect the behavior to be same.

So when I ask if I am doing something wrong, This is what I meant to ask? Am I doing something wrong in case of obj import? I have searched internet a lot before asking this question. The painter supported material type article (https://helpx.adobe.com/in/dimension/using/supported-file-types-materials.html) says that