Author Topic: Performance - 2019.3.2 is awesome for handpainting, until it isn't :C  (Read 230 times)

Hey Guys - (also sorry for the click bait title)
My name is Jake Williams and I'm a character artist over here at Gearbox Software.

I'm really enjoying all of the awesome new natural painterly brushes introduced in version 2019.3
During my time on the development of BL3, I actually used substance painter quite a bit to do my inking pass, because I wanted to preview how they would look on our PBR Models.

Due to Substance Painter keeping track of every ink stroke I would make, I had to develop a performance work around. I would do about 20-50+ ink strokes, substance would begin to strain, I would export my mask as an image, re-import the image and use that as a fill, remove the old paint modifier , add a new paint modifier and continue my inks. I would have to do this "flatten workaround" process a good 6-8 times before my inks were completed.

In terms of base color work and painting

I would use Substance painter's generators to set up some quick baked lighting and then take it into a program like 3D coat or Photoshop to do my more painterly stuff.

With the release of 2019.3+ I noticed there has been an increase in performance, and the photoshop brushes feel and look great! So I attempted to do all of my color/paint work in substance!

However the stroke preservation started working against me quickly and just started bogging down my file. I would add a basic layer, paint for about 20 minutes ... the layer would then start to lag. Workaround, create a new basic layer - I would then be able to paint again with no performance issues ... 20 minutes later ... lag. I WAS able to create a pretty cool painterly texture doing this - but I had to create about 20+ basic layers to do this, and now that I'm in my tweak/export phase my file is now starting to REALLY chug.