Author Topic: Could use some help establishing a workflow for Blender2.8/Designer/Painter/UE4  (Read 979 times)

I'm still fairly new to the Substance Suite of products, and the more I learn, the more I realize just how complex the whole thing is, and I'm at the point where I feel more lost than when I started.

The first tutorial I did was a Knife tutorial that I found by Chris Plush.  I really like his teaching style, so I was able to follow that pretty easily.

The second tutorial I did was the Lantern tutorial provided by the Substance Academy.  I was able to complete that with relative ease, and I felt like I might have actually started to learn something.

The third thing I found was a rather old tutorial about a Painter to Designer to UE4 workflow, also provided by the Substance Academy.  It however is quite old, and is delisted on YouTube.  A lot of the interface has changed, but I was able to follow along and complete the SciFi Door asset, and import it into Unreal, change the colors using the substance plugin and all that.  I was rather happy.  Again, felt like I had learned something.

So, I finally moved on to trying to deal with my own game asset.  Now, I had textured this asset right after I did the Lantern Tutorial, but once I got all the textures into Designer, I realized I didn't know anything, and I'm more confused than ever.

The workflow established in the Lantern tutorial is vastly different from the workflow in the SciFi door tutorial, and as such, the textures I had created based on the Lantern tutorial were not compatible with the SciFi door.