Author Topic: Blurry Voronoi structure with constant height/cell line color wanted  (Read 1945 times)

Hello, I am pretty new to Substance Designer. I followed a lot of tutorials (many on Pluralsight and some from Allegorithmic on YouTube) but I can't figure out how to achieve the following. I also hope that this is the right forum or that my question is of the right kind for this forum:

I basically want to achieve the following look:

These are sand dunes on Mars (Marias Pass)

This is what I have to far:

For this I use the Cells 1 generator. I like that there is a soft blurry transition between the ridges/crests and the troughs. My problem is that the height of the ridges varies a lot, leading to very unpleasant looking tessellation with very few sharp edges (see second render) - not just in SD but also in Unity. I thought about leveling and clamping, but that would create some unwanted plateaus. I also thought about using the Cells 2 generator:

and trying to blend together several layers of blurred versions to achieve a similar look to Cells 1, but with a more (what I would call) constant height so that the cell walls/lines have a similar dark color.

Could somebody please help me and tell me what might be the best approach in this case? Thanks in advance!

Sebastian
Last Edit: July 17, 2019, 10:30:28 pm

Using the highpass node may be a step in the right direction. And you can use an autolevels to safely clamp values.

A highpass essentially removes the large height variations while preserving the smaller ones.

As for stacking blurs, the non-uniform blur does this in a certain sense. I tried using a setup like this:

This didn't give very nice results but perhaps you can still use it somehow.

I've attached the .sbs with both methods.

Using the highpass node may be a step in the right direction. And you can use an autolevels to safely clamp values.
[image removed]
A highpass essentially removes the large height variations while preserving the smaller ones.