Author Topic: Creating Damage Decal Concrete Blocks (I need a workflow)  (Read 262 times)

Hi,

(I'm a newbie so please ignore my overdose explanations...)
I want to make a scene that will contains about 20-30 concrete blocks. Those blocks will have some damage decals on them as you can see attached images (ignore metal parts in them please). I will make this with C4D and Redshift.

1) modeling all block decals does not seem right to me is it correct?
2) Lets say I have a cube mesh with high polygons. Without any modeling can I give it a look like as attached with just a good textures?
3) What tools should I use?
4) How should I proceed? could you give me a workflow?

I've been trying to solve this problem for 5 days nearly. I could not achieve. Especially displacement mapping is not what should it be like as attached.

thank you

I'm afraid neither of your examples can be done with textures alone.
See, the corners are chipped off, and you can see straight through. Textures, as far as I know, can't do that. Not without some crazy displacement plugin.
You can make some forms of damage using only textures, but for the effects you showed, I would use geometry.

You are right in trying to reduce the gemoetry resolution though! If you can make simple geometry and add some interesting bump maps, that would save you a lot of computaitonal power. You should of course also re-use assets wherever possible.

Sorry I couldn't give you a good solution. If you need any advice on procedural damage texture, feel free to message me or open a new post!

- Robin
"Better than some, no worse than others."

Hi,

(I'm a newbie so please ignore my overdose explanations...)
I want to make a scene that will contains about 20-30 concrete blocks. Those blocks will have some damage decals on them as you can see attached images (ignore metal parts in them please). I will make this with C4D and Redshift.

1) modeling all block decals does not seem right to me is it correct?