Author Topic: Allegorithmic is joining the Adobe family (part 1)  (Read 79378 times)

Ironically enough, I made this in Photoshop, and in those few minutes I still experienced the same bugs that have been in it for over 10 years......

Something's just clicked now that Alleg devs are saying that Adobe have been pulling strings the last 2 years. When Painter 2018 got a UI facelift I instinctively didn't like it. I felt it was moving away from the artist-friendly and towards the sterile corporate look. I much preferred the older UI. What clicked was the flyout menus. The very same design that's been in Photoshop for years.

And then there's the decision to get rid of all the colour in the icons, which makes the UI harder to read and much less visually pleasing. The bake dialogue suffers greatly from this.

I'm a student who was planning in purchasing this software as soon as I graduate ... Now I'm not so sure about it. I haven't used Adobe since CS6 for the reasons mentioned here. Basically, I trust Allegorithmic as a company and their genuine customer centric approach way more than Adobe...

I wanted to buy Maya out the gate. When Autodesk went to subscription only (with that laughable pricetag to boot) I bought Modo instead. Straight up bought the perpetual, not the indie.

Yaknow, people may diss the Foundry but they did ok by my book when they "changed Modo to subscription."
  - Got a perpetual?  It's all yours forever.
  - Want a perpetual?  Sure, we got those, too.
  - Want maintenance to keep your perpetual updated?  Sure thing, and you keep the latest copy of the software forever, even if maintenance expires!  Hey, if you get maintenance when you first purchase Modo, we'll even knock $200 off every year, as long as you maintain it.  Let's reward the loyalty.
  - Just want the software for a couple of months?  Here's the subscription options.  You can't keep the software after it runs out, but this'll get you through your current project.