Author Topic: Substance Source to Revit to Lumion 8.5  (Read 994 times)

Hello.  I am a civil engineer and completely new to this Substance texture and materials thing.  Only been working with this stuff for a few weeks now.

I downloaded a bunch of Substances from Substance Source one of which was Asphalt Shingles.  In Substance Player, I made changes and exported the maps required in Revit and Lumion (Base Color, Normal and Glossiness - Glossiness hasn't been added to an Alpha Channel in Photoshop yet).  There are a few questions about the first two file types: Base & Normal.

1.  In Revit, the x,y scale and position of the normal map is not the same as the Base Color map.  I have to manually adjust it to be the same.  Is this a bug from the material or from Substance Player?  When I opened the other file in Substance Designer, the normal map and height map aren't the same 2048x2048 size as the Base Color Map and other outputs.  This seems to be a flaw in the coding?

2. The normal map, even after cranking it up to max prior to exporting from Substance Player, adjusting to scale above and cranking up the scale in Revit to max, doesn't produce the correct depth/height when viewed in Lumion.  It still shows up as completely flat.  However, it seems to show up with some height in Revit though.  Is this a bug or just a compatibility issue?  See 1 above regarding Substance Designer findings.

3. In the 3D testing environment on the Substance Source website, the Height Range slider actually changes the thickness of the shingles.  When making adjustments in Substance player, the Height Range slider doesn't work.  This must be a bug?

Thanks for any assistance in advance!
Last Edit: October 15, 2018, 08:25:43 pm

Hi !

Regarding your two first questions, it seems that there was an issue with the Substance material.
It has been fixed, and you can download the updated version on substance Source.