Author Topic: Normal Map Distortion  (Read 2750 times)

Heyo!
I'm new to Substance Painter and have some issues here and there. One of them is with normal baking. I try to bake a straight line onto the low poly model but it gets curvy once it's baked:

I understand the underlying problem, but I can't figure out how to change the projection mode or something. Any ideas how to fix that?

Post a wireframe of your model and a wireframe of the UV layout please.

Top Ortho View:

UV Layout:

Distortion most likely due to Painters triangulation. Either triangulate the mesh before importing it into Painter, or subdivide the object with the largest UV island a couple of times (insert edge loops).

High poly mesh is also most likely too low poly still.

First of all, thanks for your answer!

I tried both methods, pre triangulate the mesh, which had no effect at all, and subdividing the object (especially the rounding of the cylinder) which just made the curvy line more curvy instead of like triangles going up and down.

Anyone encountered such a problem or has suggestions?
I saw another video where kind of that problem was solved by unchecking "Average Normals" which sadly has no effect on my problem aswell :(
Here the vid: https://youtu.be/cVPJwMivw5I?t=40

upload your FBX/OBJ files somewhere if you want, I will take a look at it.

Thanks for the offer!
I'll gladly accept it ;) cause I have no more Ideas besides trying other software for baking (which would be a pain to use multiple programs) or fixing the normal in Photoshop.

Here are the files (not the newest version, but I'm not at home atm):
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1JFlPYp6l7R__LFMQnKp8meyNURItrIwX

Greetings from Germany!