Author Topic: Where Designer ends and Painter begins.  (Read 1369 times)

I'm starting to find my feet with both programs, but I'm a little confused about the overlapping functionalities of both and which combination of "this is done in painter, this is done in designer" I should be thinking about. I'm a game environment artist, so that should help to explain my priorities.

What confuses me is the ability to use mask generators and trilinear projection nodes in Designer, when those are also core parts of Painter. It may be easiest to explain what I -think- is going on here, so someone can tell me if I'm getting this right.

So my understanding is that Painter can do all the same projection and mask generation, and they dont need to be included in the materials I create in designer. However, they CAN be included, in which case the material is more of a Smart Material and can be quickly slapped onto any asset without me setting up all the masks again. They will already be set to project and blend materials in the correct places relative to my baked maps. So basically I can create materials in Designer that do some of the work for me, that I would normally have to do for each asset in Painter manually otherwise.

I feel like this makes sense and is probably right, but I want to make sure Painter doesnt actually require these functions be included in the material from Designer, in order to use them in Painter. That these functions are overlapping, not dependent. Thanks.
Last Edit: September 26, 2018, 04:19:44 pm

I'm starting to find my feet with both programs, but I'm a little confused about the overlapping functionalities of both and which combination of "this is done in painter, this is done in designer" I should be thinking about. I'm a game environment artist, so that should help to explain my priorities.