Author Topic: Tile sampler?  (Read 828 times)

Hello! I'm a student learning SD, and I've been working these days on a procedural texture that is basically a bunch of floppy disks scattered. I've seen some tutorials but they all rely on that the object portrayed is uniform-colored (like coins, rocks, leaves or screws). And that's not what I need. I've built the object out of shapes and masks (front and back) but. obviously, it has different color zones, a metallic part, etc. I don't know what to do after i've built the shapes i want. I tried use tile sampler but that way i couldnt treat color, roughness and metalness of individual parts of each component.
What would you say it's the best approach? Can you point me towards a guide or tutorial?

You can often get these sorts of results by having multiple tile samplers with all the same settings, and layer them afterwards. This can often be annoying, though, trying to get everything to line up right, and to get the pieces to overlap when they're supposed to.
In your case, it might be possible to use color in a sneaky way, here... By using Tile Sampler Color you might be able to pull in the required maps as separate colors with a RGBA Merge node. Red for height, green for metallic, blue for basecolor (if you have paper labels or writing on the surface, for example). And an alpha map for the general shape, of course. Then make sure the tile smapler has it's blending mode set to Alpha Blend, and it should take care of the layering for you. Then separate out the colors back into their proper greyscale places, use a gradient map or some other trick to bring color to the Base Color, and you should be set.

Damn! I didn't think of that!
I'll give it a shot these days and post back the results (or questions, most probably) that come up.

I don't know how to overcome this issue, I'm having problem with fusion modes for both the outputs of the RGBA Split.