Author Topic: Unclear documentation on connections.  (Read 1951 times)

Hello.

I'm trying to write a python script that fixes the unity issues related to smoothness and metallic.

I wrote a script that finds the metallic and roughness outputs, gets the connections to the left and then connects those nodes to a bunch of new nodes (invert, channel shuffle, a new output).

This works really well when the nodes the outputs are connected to are simple things, like a levels, or a blur and so on. Now, I've stumbled upon a case where the node on the left hand of the connection has multiple outputs (in fact, it's a whole material).

The issue is that since I don't specify what output to connect to, they always get connected to the first one (a diffuse in this case). Is there any way to know what output from a node a connection is made to? I might not be understanding this so well since I'm a bit new to python but I'm "fluent" in c++ and other more normal languages.

Here's the code that handles this roughness/metallic->metalSmoothenss issue:

Code: [Select]
          #Get Metallic and RoughnessNodes
          metallicOutput = graph.getGraphOutputNode(aOutputIdentifier = 'metallic')
          metallicNodeUid = graph.getNode(metallicOutput.mUID).mConnections[0].getConnectedNodeUID()
          metallicNode = graph.getNode(metallicNodeUid)

roughnessOutput = graph.getGraphOutputNode(aOutputIdentifier = 'roughness')
          roughnessNodeUid = graph.getNode(roughnessOutput.mUID).mConnections[0].getConnectedNodeUID()
          roughnessNode = graph.getNode(roughnessNodeUid)

#Create MetallicSmoothness output
          invertedRoughness = graph.createCompFilterNode(aFilter = pysbs.sbsenum.FilterEnum.LEVELS,
                                                         aParameters = {
                                                             pysbs.sbsenum.CompNodeParamEnum.LEVEL_IN_LOW : '0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0',