Author Topic: UE4 / Designer Compatibility and Optimization  (Read 2753 times)

Hey there. I started learning Designer last week, and I LOVE it so far. Today I tried getting some of my Substances into UE4, and noticed a few problems that I'd like some help understanding.

Firstly, there is a major difference when using CPU vs GPU. I understand from reading some other posts that CPU may not be able to accurately represent some nodes in the graph which is understandable, but is there some guide for which nodes to avoid if you want CPU compatibility? The result can be quite dramatic, in this case the CPU is on the left (incorrect) and the GPU is on the right (exactly like how it looks in Desginer <3)

Secondly, I parameterized the Distance, Softness and Angle nodes of the Shadow node in Designer, not really expecting it to work in UE4 but mainly out of curiosity. Well, it works SERIOUSLY WELL and looks incredible, since I plan to have a global shadow parameter in UE4 driven by realtime sun position change. So now it will not only affect the normals on the texture but give a fake shadow. This is the result:

Pretty sweet, BUT, the Async Rendering node causes a major, multi-frame hitch in GPU mode. Which means not only can I not update it every minute or 30 seconds or so which was the plan, but I really wouldn't be able to update it at all during runtime, since even a single hitch like that isn't acceptable. I followed this thread:

https://forum.allegorithmic.com/index.php?topic=19320.0

And followed Dan Stover's advice but it didn't help in GPU mode. In CPU mode, there is sometimes a small and single frame drop as it updates, but barely noticeable, and acceptable for updating the texture shadows every minute or whatever to match the sun position.