Author Topic: Noobie Needs advice-Shipwreck rusticle texture  (Read 1370 times)

Hello all,
I'm a total noobie, with only 9 hours experience on Substance designer. I'm still looking to create a texture like this for a model I'm making. I've attached some images to give you an idea of what I want to achieve: rusty, dripping rusticles from deep sea wrecks that have a variation of texture and generate icicle like features. I've seen lots of rock texture tutorials, but nothing that generates long, sporadic, vertical bumpy streaks.

I'm counting on substance designer and painter for this, so I was just wondering?
Could anyone point me in the right direction to any relevant tutorials?
Or perhaps tell me how you'd approach this?

Thanks

I hate to be a bumper, but does anyone have any advice?

I saw this before, and was hoping someone a little less uncertain than I am might have input. It seems like no one does.

See, you've chosen a challenging project... It's a material that builds up upon itsself, reacting to both the surface and to what has built up previously. for the icicle-like shape, you'd find a baked Position map helpful. isolate the Y/Green axis (RGBA-Split or Greyscale with G at 1 and the rest at 0) and invert it, and use that with warps, or slope blurs, maybe... Like a speckled map as 'seeds' made with a splatter circular, and then have those seeds drip using the Y-axis pos map and several slope blurs. This would be enough to make a mask. After that, you'd need a rust texture (not too hard to make or find) and a rusticle texture (harder to make, probably impossible to find...)
I'd start with clouds, or perlin noise, and one trick I've always enjoyed is making a roundish heightmap by using Non-Uniform Blur and plugging the clouds in to both inputs. This part would take a lot of experimentation to find something that looks right.