Author Topic: How non-artist/absolute-beginner friendly is substance?  (Read 4324 times)

Greetings.

Before i decided to make this post, i made a bit of research on this matter, and in the end most of the answers everyone give are about preference. Also by the way, i didn't know where to post this so i did here.

So a little bit of background, i'm a computer science student (so i'm more into programming) who has always wished to make games, messed about 1 year with Unity (2D features only) then moved on 3D features and that's when i decided i wanted to learn to make my own game assets (for fun, the challenge, and also for personal projects, i would rather make my own instead of paying an artist to make them every time i had an idea in mind).

That's when i started to learn to use blender, with some tutorials and some online courses i managed to get the basics (modelling, rigging, animating), then i met Maya and i fell in love, i couldn't go back to blender anymore (workflow felt much smoother for me, and got used to UI pretty fast), so that's where i've been messing around since least year.

Now recently after months of practice i finally made my first 3D human(oid) model (yay for me :D) i'm really happy i accomplished that, nothing fancy, just a base-mesh that i got to "dress up", so now my next challenge is to actually texture my model.

Some tutorials i've been watching use and advice to use autodesk mudbox for some sort of stencil/transfer tool, that makes it extremely fast to texture (instead of "unwrapping" and painting the UV map and then going back to maya), but sadly my country doesn't have any mudbox reseller, that's when i saw Steam has substance for a price i can afford.