Author Topic: How do I import a material in "read only" mode?  (Read 3065 times)

Hi,
Forgive me I am completely new to substance painter and am using a student license.

Basically, I just want to import a substance material that is a .sbsar file and I am stuck in read only mode.

The "file>import substance" option is unavailable, nor can I drag and drop the material in either. Turns out in the 2.4.1 update you cannot "file>import a substance" in read only mode. My substance painter is running in read only mode. I have been searching for hours for any information on how to disable read only mode, or how to import a material in read only mode-but have found nothing, bringing me here.

How do I disable read only mode? Is the student license set to read only mode by default, therefore cannot be disabled? and if I am stuck with this read only mode, how am I supposed to import a material in?

Any help would be seriously appreciated!
Thanks!
Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 03:30:20 am

Hi,

Disregard - misunderstood issue.
Last Edit: December 23, 2016, 06:14:04 am

Hey,
did you try to run SP as admin to see if it changes anything?
Do you think you can share the sbsar ?
Thx

Thank you for the response!

I just ran it as administrator and still have the same problem. I have attached a screenshot of what substance looks like before I create a project; it doesn't say "read-only" in the top red bar at this point, but the "import substance"/drag drop material is still unavailable.
Then I have attached a screen shot of what things look like once I create a project; the "read-only" then shows up in the top red bar.

Also attached the material I was trying to use, as well as the link to where I downloaded it from. But I don't think the problem is with the material-I can't import any material what so ever..

Link to the substance share page I got the material from: https://share.allegorithmic.com/libraries/1747
Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 11:05:51 pm